Incoming Faculty 2016-17

Welcome New Faculty!

The New Faculty Foundations Program is designed to provide new faculty with both a community of fellow faculty in the College of Engineering and resources for success. The program is coordinated by the office of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching in Engineering.

Information on Fall 2016 and Winter 2017 sessions is updated regularly, please visit again for additional events.

New Faculty Foundations 16-17 Programs 

New Faculty Orientation will take place on August 31, 2016.

The College of Engineering orientation takes place on August 30, 2016. 
University Orientation presented by CRLT will take place on August 31, 2016. Program information is available.

The 2016-2017 new faculty are:

Aerospace Engineering
Benjamin Jorns, Assistant Professor (W17 start)

Biomedical Engineering
Carlos Aguilar, Assistant Professor (W17 start)
Aileen Huang-Saad, Assistant Professor
Deepak Nagrath, Associate Professor (W17 start) 

Chemical Engineering
Andrej Lenert, Assistant Professor
Heather Mayes, Assistant Professor (W17 start)

Civil and Environmental Engineering
Evgueni Filipov, Assistant Professor 
Neda Masoud, Assistant Professor
Yafeng Yin, Professor (W17 start)                                                                                                                                        

Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
Enrico Landi, Professor 

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science – CSE Division
Emmanouil Kapritsos, Assistant Professor (W17 start)

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science – ECE Division
Ehsan Afshari, Associate Professor 
Dmitry Berenson, Assistant Professor
Hun Seok Kim, Assistant Professor
Mackillo Kira, Professor
Hessam Mahdavifar, Assistant Professor
Zetian Mi, Professor

Industrial and Operations Engineering
Joi-Lynn Mondisa, Assistant Professor 
Xi (Jessie) Yang, Assistant Professor

Materials Science and Engineering
Robert Hovden, Assistant Professor (W17 start)
Ashwin Shahani, Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering
Jesse Capecelatro, Assistant Professor 
Daniel Cooper, Assistant Professor (W17 start)
Yu Fan, Assistant Professor (W17 start)
Bogdan-Ioan Popa, Assistant Professor (W17 start)

Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
Ryan McBride, Associate Professor 
Xiaodong Sun, Professor (W17 start)

For more information on New Faculty Foundations events, or if you have any other questions, please contact the Office of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, or call 647-7020.