U-M Awards

Administered by the Office of the Provost

Arthur F. Thurnau Professorships
Thurnau Professorships recognize and reward faculty for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. This program is designed to honor those tenured faculty whose commitment to and investment in undergraduate teaching has had a demonstrable impact on the intellectual development and lives of their students.

Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award
Named in honor of Dean Emeritus of the School of Social Work, this award recognizes faculty whose service contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community. Nominees must be full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty on the Ann Arbor campus.

Administered by the Rackham Graduate School

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards
These awards honor senior faculty who have consistently demonstrated outstanding achievements in the areas of scholarly research and/or creative endeavors, teaching and mentoring of students and junior faculty, service and related activities that have brought distinction to themselves and to the University of Michigan.

Distinguished University Professorships
Distinguished University Professorships, the University’s most prestigious professorships, recognize senior faculty with exceptional scholarly and/or creative achievements, national and international reputations for academic excellence, and superior records of teaching, mentoring, and service. 

Faculty Recognition Awards
These awards are for mid-career faculty who have demonstrated remarkable contributions to the University through outstanding achievements in scholarly research and/or creative endeavors; excellence as a teacher, advisor and mentor; and distinguished participation in the service activities of the university and elsewhere.

Henry Russel Award
Considered the University’s highest honor for faculty at the early to mid-career stages of their career, the Henry Russel Award is conferred annually to faculty members who have demonstrated an extraordinary record of accomplishment in scholarly research and/or creativity, as well as an excellent record of contributions as a teacher.

Henry Russel Lectureship
Considered the University’s highest honor for a senior member of its active faculty, the Henry Russel Lectureship is awarded annually to recognize a faculty member of exceptional achievements in research, scholarship and/or creative endeavors, and an outstanding record of distinguished teaching, mentoring, and service to the university and wider communities.

John H. D’Arms Faculty Awards for Distinguished Graduate Mentoring in the Humanities
These awards honor John H. D’Arms, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Academic Affairs (1985-1995). They recognize tenured faculty who are outstanding mentors of doctoral students in the humanities, who support their intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth, and foster a culture of intellectual engagement in which they thrive.

Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award 
Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Awards recognize tenured faculty from any discipline who are outstanding mentors of doctoral students, who support their intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth, and foster a culture of intellectual engagement in which they thrive.

Rackham Master’s Mentoring Award 
Rackham Master’s Mentoring Awards recognize faculty from any discipline who are outstanding mentors to master’s students, particularly for those in programs for which the master’s is the terminal degree.


Additional information regarding the Faculty Awards Programs can be found on the Provost’s website: